Scoop Review of Books

Book News News

Release: A New Spin on Māui

How Māui Fished Up the North Island / Hīnga Ake a Māui i te Ika Whenua

Release: 17 July 2018

The legend of Māui has been reinvented for a whole new generation of Kiwi children in How Māui Fished Up the North Island (Upstart Press) the first title in the ‘Tales of Aotearoa’ series.

Who better to do that than Donovan Bixley, one of the country’s best-loved illustrators of children’s books?

In this fresh retelling, Donovan applies his unique twists and trademark humour to this much-treasured story.

“Initially I turned down the offer to write and illustrate a book on Māui,” says Donovan. “He’s such an important part of Pacific culture and I felt didn’t have the knowledge or the mana to take on this legendary figure. But the more I thought about it, the more I wanted to bring my own interpretation.”

Read more »

Release: BWB Winter Series

The BWB Winter Series is in full swing, with lots of exciting events planned around the country.

Next week, Fair Borders? editor David Hall will discuss borders and migration in Auckland with authors Arama Rata, Evelyn Marsters and Andrew Chen.

Wednesday 18 July, 5.30–6.30pm
Te Iringa Conference Room (The Wave Room),
WG308, AUT University,
55 Wellesley Street East,

David and Arama discuss borders, divisions and the space between with Kapka Kassabova and Lana Lopesi on the Pantograph Punch. 

In Wellington, Barbara Brookes will be joined by Te Papa Curators Katie Cooper and Matariki Williams for an engaging discussion of women’s history, as told through objects and artworks from the museum collections.

Sunday 22 July, 3.00–4.15 pm
Te Marae, Level 4,
Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa,
55 Cable Street,
Te Aro, Wellington

More information for the Wellington and Aucklandevents on facebook.

This event is part of the BWB Winter Series. Now in its third year, the Winter Series will be bringing BWB’s authors and ideas to towns nationwide.

Keep an eye on our newsletter, website and facebook page over the next few months to find out more about these events.

BWB acknowledges the support of Creative New Zealand.

Release: CLNZ Writers’ Award

CLNZ $25,000 Writers’ Award 2018 – apply now

It’s time to unleash the book in you

New Zealand non-fiction writers, including those who write for an education audience, are invited to apply for a grant of $25,000 from Copyright Licensing New Zealand (CLNZ).

The CLNZ Writers’ Award is offered to writers of any genre of non-fiction, including education works. The award enables the successful applicant to devote time to their writing project.

The CLNZ Writers’ Award is one of the projects made possible through CLNZ’s Cultural Fund. The Cultural Fund’s objectives are to:

  • Protect – writers and publishers’ ability to earn revenue from their works
  • Support – the creation and production of new works and assist the commercial success of New Zealand works
  • Grow – the number of works created and skills in the industry
CLNZ encourage non-fiction writers to consider applying for this award.  Applications for the full range of non-fiction genre are welcome.  Applicants must be New Zealand citizens or permanent residents and writers of proven merit.

Applications must be completed online by 4pm on Friday 27 July 2018.

Application and criteria for the 2018 CLNZ Writers’ Award can be found on the Copyright Licensing website:
Direct link:

Contact us on 0800 480 271

For more information about other grants and awards offered, please visit:

Release: Tony Smith Goldsmith

Tony Williams Goldsmith

goldsmith-coverTony Williams Goldsmith reflects the life’s work of an exceptional craftsman, who for 40 years has been one of the most distinctive jewellers working in New Zealand.

Drawing on the great traditions of jewellery-making, Tony Williams has honed his skills in goldsmithing, gemology and enameling to create an original body of work that defies categorization. As silversmith Kobi Bossard has written, this work is not bound by ‘the conventions of either “traditional jewellery” or “contemporary jewellery”’.

It makes its own statement about the place of jewellery and fine craftsmanship today and in the past. Tony Williams’ skill as a master craftsman is evident in all his pieces – from small dragon sculptures to exquisite dragonfly brooches, bold necklaces, bracelets and magnificent rings. His pieces reference the great jewellerymaking traditions – of medieval and Renaissance craftsmen, of the Art Nouveau and Arts and Crafts movement. They also reflect the influence of the natural world and his New Zealand heritage.

Tony Williams Goldsmith makes a significant contribution to the history of this country’s creative entrepreneurship. The book features an insightful essay by New Zealand poet and novelist Emma Neale on Tony Williams’ life and work, and an appraisal by art and craft historian Rigel Sorzano placing this jewellery-making in its creative context. Over 200 photographs illustrate the jewellery, with some drawings and photographs that document the making of the pieces.

Tony Williams Goldsmith is a remarkable account of a creative journey, the record of a lifetime’s commitment to artistic excellence – and a stunning visual narrative.

Tony Williams Goldsmith will be launched at the Dunedin Public Library on Thursday 5 th July at 5.15 pm and at Unity Books in Wellington on Tuesday 17th July at 5.30 pm.

Read more »

Release: 2018 National Writers Forum

MEDIA RELEASE: June 29th, 2018

NZSA National Writers Forum celebrates writing from Oceania

SEPTEMBER 21 – 23, 2018

John Marsden, Anita Heiss, Lani Wendt Young, Maualaivao Albert Wendt, Mandy Hager, Paula Morris, Pip Adam and Brannavan Gnanalingam are just some of the writers taking part in the NZSA National Writers Forum taking place from 21–23 September at the University of Auckland. They will be joined by writers, publishers, agents, editors, festival directors and a range of literary arts professionals from New Zealand and overseas.

‘The 2018 National Writers Forum celebrates the important role the written word plays in our lives and communities’ says Jenny Nagle, Chief Executive Officer of New Zealand Society of Authors, who organises the event. ‘Our authors and their stories are world-leading and enrich the lives of all New Zealanders. We want to ensure we support a strong, healthy writing and publishing environment to strengthen the industry.’

Read more »

Next Page »