Scoop Review of Books

NZ Book Awards Trust News

11 October 2018


The New Zealand Book Awards Trust is calling for expressions of interest from children’s literature advocates who’d like to be considered as judges of the 2019 New Zealand Book Awards for Children and Young Adults.

A total of five English language judges will be appointed to deliberate over an expected 150 entries in five categories: Junior Fiction (the Wright Family Foundation Esther Glen Award), Young Adult Fiction, Non-Fiction (the Elsie Locke Award), Picture Book and Illustration (the Russell Clark Award). The Wright Family Foundation Te Kura Pounamu Award, for books entirely written in te reo Māori, is judged by a separate panel appointed by Te Rōpū Whakahau.

Jeannie Skinner, a facilitator with the National Library’s Services to Schools and convenor of the 2018 judges, shares her experience:
“As a judge, I had to read beyond my usual personal preferences and read more critically and thoughtfully. There was also the pleasure in discovering new authors and having lots of bookish conversations with my wonderful fellow judges.”
Inspired to put your hat in the ring or know someone else who would be ideal for the role? You’ll find full details and expressions of interest forms on our website. Applications close on November 5.


Publishers and authors who wish to have their books considered for the 2019 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards have just under a fortnight left to complete their submissions.

Entries for books published between January and August closed last month, and entries are presently being accepted for books published between 1 September and 31 December. All online submissions close on 24 October, with additional time allowed for physical copies of books publishing in November and December to reach the administrator.

Eligibility criteria and a Call for Entries information pack are available on our website.


In a significant move set to strengthen Aotearoa’s literary landscape, our friends at the Auckland Writers Festival have created a foundation that will provide funding opportunities for New Zealand writers and readers.

Auckland Writers Festival chair Pip Muir says the launch of the Mātātuhi Foundation is the next step in the realisation of a long-held dream:
“It is absolutely fantastic that the Festival has reached a point where it can further contribute to the national reading and writing community. We are thrilled to be able support the nation’s literature with the launch of this ground-breaking initiative.”
The Foundation initially aims to make up to ten one-off grants of $2000 to $5000 per year, with expressions of interest invited twice a year, the first deadline being 31 October 2018. More details can be found on the Mātātuhi website.


24 October: Entry deadline for 2019 Ockhams, for books published 1 September to 31 December
5 November: Application deadline for judges for 2019 NZ Book Awards for Children & Young Adults
22 November: Entries open for 2019 NZ Book Awards for Children & Young Adults, for books published 1 April 2018 to 31 March 2019
3 December: HELL Reading Challenge 2018 ends
13 December: First entry deadline for 2019 NZ Book Awards for Children & Young Adults, for books published 1 April 2018 to 30 November 2018
31 January: 2019 Ockham New Zealand Book Awards longlist announced
The Ockham New Zealand Book Awards, The New Zealand Book Awards for Children & Young Adults, and Phantom Billstickers National Poetry Day could not exist without the generosity, commitment and vision of our sponsors and staging partners. The New Zealand Book Awards Trust is hugely grateful to Creative New Zealand, Ockham Residential, The Acorn Foundation, The Auckland Writers Festival, Copyright Licensing NZ, HELL Pizza, Wright Family Foundation, Te Papa, Phantom Billstickers and our other very generous supporters.
NZ Book Awards Trust
PO Box 331488
Auckland 0740